Bedias Historical Marker
Home

 

Historical marker found in front of the Civic Center in Bedias, Texas.
Placed in 1968.

  Town of Bedias:

Named for North and South Bedias Creeks, which in turn were named for the Bidai Indians, an agricultural people reputed to have been the oldest inhabitants of the area.  "Bidai" means "Brushwood", which may refer to the building material used in their dwellings.

The first white settlement in this vicinity was founded 1835 by Thomas P. Plaster, and for a while it was called Plasterville.  In 1903, the community of "Old" Bedias surrendered most of its population to "New" Bedias after a branch of the International & Great Northern Railroad was built to the northeast.

Townspeople from Pankey and Cotton also moved here.  The name "Bedias" was retained, but only after a heated struggle in which determined citizens refused to have the town named for a railroad official.

A famous, early resident of the Bedias area was Sarah Dodson, who in 1835 made the first "Lone Star" flag in Texas.  She lived here from 1844 to 1848 and is buried in Old Bethel Cemetery, seven miles west.

One of the most unique features of this region is the large number of tektites (also called "Bediasites") found here.  These are beautiful, glassy, meteor-like stones which fell to earth 34 million years ago.  Amazingly, Indians called them "Jewels of the Moon".

(1968)

Home

 
 

 To add photos and other news to the web page, email us at adm@bedias.com

 Updated 04/16/2007 by Perroux.us